Online Dating Story: “This guy is unbelievable. I’m in love.”

Lindsay’s Story

 

Online dating success: Lindsay and David with their son, Liam
Lindsay, 32: After a breakup, friends talked me into using eHarmony. All of my “matches” were the complete opposite of whom I would date!
I used Yahoo! for email, so I tried Yahoo! Personals. I saw a completely different variety of people. It offered more privacy. I went on several dates, made a few friends, met some really great people.
A few days after my 30th birthday I saw his profile. David was perfect, and this amazing feeling of home rushed over me. From his face to his smile, he was endearing and so down-to-earth. I found out he had not subscribed yet. He joined Yahoo! Personals just to speak to me. We started emailing — long, long emails — for about two weeks.
Our first date was at an outdoor restaurant after work. It was love at first sight. It was like when you meet a friend — there was something so recognizable in his eyes. We sat there for five hours. We wanted the same things and were both in the same place. When we met it just solidified it. On the way home I called my friend and said, “This guy is unbelievable. I’m in love.” It’s just right. And it happened at the right time. We’re 30, we’ve been there and done that. We dated for one month, then he moved in.
One day David said, “I want to go look at rings.” I thought he was joking, but we ended up at the jewelry store and picked out a ring. He planned to propose on New Year’s Eve, but our dinner plans for that night got canceled. Next thing I know I’m walking into the living room, and he’s down on one knee. It was surreal, it happened so fast, but nothing felt wrong about it. Our wedding day was June 7, 2008. It was just perfect, a small ceremony. Our son Liam was born about a year later, on July 13, 2009.
I tell people, “We met on Yahoo! Personals!” David loves to say he got a wife for $19.99. He’s my counterpart. We never would have met without Yahoo! Personals.

David’s Story

David, 31: I wasn’t even a full member when Lindsay contacted me. I put up my profile and soon after that I received her email. She was the first person I heard from. I became a member to meet her. Then, as soon as I did, I canceled my membership!
I was impressed by her profile. I thought she was very pretty in her profile photo. She had the same interests as me. We were only 30 minutes away from each other. We met at a restaurant after work. I had never been on a blind date. I was not good at this at all. She was absolutely beautiful. We talked for hours. A guy was playing guitar behind her, and I couldn’t hear a word she said. I just kept nodding. I didn’t walk her to her car that night — I am still hearing about that!
That first night, I felt Lindsay was the one. I’ve always had a picture in my mind of what she would look like, where she’d be in life. It was clear as day, no doubt in my mind. She was where I was in my life. I knew it was important to meet someone who wanted to get married and start a family. Everything fell into place.
The two of us haven’t stopped. We’re excited about life. We’re off to a great start. It’s amazing to have Liam now.

Online Dating Tips From Lindsay

  • Use Yahoo! Personals! It’s the most down-to-earth group of people. The people are sincere and looking for serious relationships. I wouldn’t tell anyone to go anywhere else.
  • Being nonsearchable was comfortable for me. I liked the privacy. People couldn’t find me in searches, but I could find them and contact whomever I wanted. I selected which singles were allowed to view information about me.

Reference http://www.yahoo.com

~ by Rithy Pheath on 11/17/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
